Trail Talk
July 30, 2014, 03:01:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: See our events page for the latest hikes and other events on the Buckeye Trail.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Skilled carpenter volunteer needed  (Read 3091 times)
melloman
Day Hiker

« on: March 30, 2011, 05:43:03 PM »

Greetings to all,my name is Matthew Funk and i am the Mogadore section supervisor with the buckeye trail.I have come across a bunch of free telephone poles and want to build a adirondack lean-to shelter for the new buckeye trail were building around the lake at West branch state park.I'm not very good at carpentry and i'm looking for a bta member or non member who would like to donate some time and there skill to build it.All materials will be provided and brought to your site.I would like to find someone in the northeastern part of the state if possible so i don't have to haul the materials clear across the state.If this sounds like something you'd be interested in please let me know.It's possible to get up to 150 poles and i would like to eventually turn them all into shelters to use where ever we can put them in the state.
Matthew Funk
Mogadore section supervisor
buckeye trail association   
BTA Geek
Circuit Hiker

« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 07:53:23 AM »

Matthew,
I would start by contacting Jim Runk (State Trail Coordinator).  If he can't help you directly, I suspect he can get you some names of people that can.  I know he has been involved in building a few shelters on other areas of the trail.

If you need his contact information, just PM me.
Andrew
Day Hiker

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 02:45:17 PM »

Hello Matthew,